Pushy Customers

I work in retail, and I have for close to four years now.  Normally, my customers are fairly friendly, I have never yelled at a customer, unlike some of my co-workers, not to say I haven’t had disagreements with some of them.  Most stress among the workers in my department comes from a customer who comes about once a week, and who buys nothing but blank audio and video tapes, then only pays in change for totals that regularly exceed $40.  He’s quite demanding and normally stresses out my co-workers, but other than being anoying, he doesn’t really get under my skin.

Last night however, I had a customer that kept asking to give them a deal.  Now I understand money, and spending it, is on a lot of people’s minds these days, but when an item is marked down from $550 to $300, you can ask once for a further discount, but after I say “Can’t help you.”  Leave it!  This customer asked me on at least 10 occasions if I could mark it down further, each time replying “I can’t take anything more off.” When it became evident that I wasn’t going to budge on the price, they asked if I’d throw in a case for free, obviously my answer was “No.”

I don’t think I’ve ever been so frustrated by a customer before, I think it was the constant hounding they were giving me, but it continues to be a good motivator to study hard at school.

One Response to Pushy Customers

  1. gloria says:

    I know I know you will enjoy this website;

    http://notalwaysright.com

Leave a Reply

