Yann

Last night was a night I had been looking forward to for some time. Last night I got to go see another one of my favorite musical acts: Yann Tiersen.

For those of you who may not know of him, he composed and performed the soundtracks to Amélie and Good Bye Lenin! Both of those soundtracks were heavy on piano, and the Amélie soundtrack used a lot of violin and accordion. So I was a little upset when he didn’t play anything remotely close to what made me go see him in the first place. To be fair, there was one violin solo that he played, and that was pretty good.

The highlight of the show for me was watching the bassist, who appeared to be in need of an exorcism, really get into one song and in the process, knock over his microphone. The ensuing attempt by the stage hand to put the mic back up was pretty funny, with the bassist nearly body checking the stage hand into the crowd.

The show, overall was alright, but I was just disappointed that he didn’t play anything that made want to go see him in the first place. Here’s a clip anyway.

One Response to Yann

  1. Terri says:

    Well, I’m glad you got a video clip of it. All I got were some mediocre flicks.

Leave a Reply

